top of page

Jason Yam


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram


  • Dr Jason CS YAM is Associate Professor & Undergraduate Division Head at Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences of CUHK, Head of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus service at Hong Kong Eye Hospital, and Head of Ophthalmology Service at Hong Kong Children′s Hospital.  He is also Director of CUHK Jockey Club Myopia Prevention Programme.  Dr Jason CS YAM graduated as Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from the University of Hong Kong in 2005.  He received overseas training on Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus in Great Ormond Street Hospital (2011); with Dr David GUYTON of Johns Hopkins Hospital (2011); and with Dr Kenneth WRIGHT in Los Angeles (2012); ocular genetics with Dr Janey WIGGS of Harvard Medical School (2016); with Dr Alex LEVIN of Wills Eye Hospital (2017); and Baylor College of Medicine at Texas Children Hospital (2017); ocular oncology and retinoblastoma with Dr Jerry SHIELDS and Dr Carol SHIELDS of Wills Eye Hospital (2017).

  • He serves as the Secretary-General of Asia-Pacific Strabismus and Paediatric Ophthalmology Society (APSPOS), Training and Education Committee Chair of International Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Council (IPOSC), Council Member of Asia-Pacific Myopia Society (APMS), Society Relations & Leadership Development Committee of International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO), Public Education Standing Committee Secretary, and Ophthalmic Education Standing Committee and Research Standing Committee of Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO), International Programme Committee of American Association for Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS), and many other international academic positions.  Nationally, he serves as the Council Member of Ophthalmology Group of Chinese Paediatric Society.  Locally, he serves as Vice President of Hong Kong Ophthalmological Society (HKOS), and Council Member of College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong (COHK).  He served as the Congress President of the Inaugural Asia-Pacific Strabismus and Paediatric Ophthalmology Society Congress 2017.  In 2021, he initiated the IPOSC Joint Webinar Programme, which organize a monthly joint webinar with the national member societies including countries from Egypt, Lebanon, Israel, Turkey, Russia, United Kingdom, Italy, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, India, Philippines, Japan, South Korea, and China, etc.

  • He has more than 130 publications, authored 6 book chapters and co-authored 1 book.  He is the principal investigator (PI) of research grants and external funding of HKD 100 million, including 1 CRF(Co-PI), 3 GRFs, 1 NSFC, 4 HMRFs, 1 HCPF, 1 ITF, and 2 HK Jockey Club Charities Trust Grants.  He is PI of Low-concentration Atropine for Myopia Progression (LAMP-1) and Low-concentration Atropine for Myopia Prevention (LAMP-2) studies, which are the first placebo-controlled RCTs to provide evidence for 0.05% atropine to reduce myopia progression and to delay myopia onset respectively.  This confers clinical relevance to millions of children worldwide.  He is also PI of Hong Kong Children Eye Study, an epidemiological cohort of 40,000 children and their parents for detailed phenotypic and genotypic characterization.  Studies led by him has been published at JAMA, Lancet Global Health, JAMA Network Open, Ophthalmology etc.  He has chaired 30 symposia, and has delivered 2 award lectures, 10 keynote lectures, 90 invited lectures, 60 conference papers.  He also serves as an editor in 8 international journals.

  • In 2019, he received the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Nakajima Award for being the most outstanding young ophthalmologist under aged 40 in Asia-Pacific.  To recognize his global contributions on myopia and children eye care, he was named One of the Ten Outstanding Young Persons in Hong Kong in 2019, and was bestowed Hong Kong Humanity Award 2021 and International Myopia Conference Josh Wallman Memorial Lecture 2022.  His other awards include Distinguished Young Fellow in Hong Kong Academy of Medicine (2013), Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Leadership Development Program Award (2015), Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Distinguished Service Award (2016), Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Achievement Award (2016), and Hospital Authority Corporate Scholarship (2016), inaugural Asia-Pacific Strabismus and Paediatric Ophthalmology Society Young Investigator Award (2017), Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Outstanding Service in Prevention of Blindness (2019), Gold Medal for Best Original Research by Young Fellows in Hong Kong Academy of Medicine (2019), and Hospital Authority Kowloon Central Cluster Outstanding Team Award (as team leader) (2020), Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Senior Achievement Award (2021), Hong Kong Youth Dream-maker Award 2021, Hong Kong Volunteer Award 2021 (Group Award as team leader), and Silver Medal of Geneva Inventions Salon International (2022).​







bottom of page